Luis “Wicho” Figueroa eclipses Vic Power’s games, at-bat, and hits in the Caribbean Series competition

Victor Pellot-Luis Figueroa

Víctor (Vic) Pellot Power played in eight Caribbean Series (CS) events for the Caguas Criollos, San Juan Senators, and Santurce Crabbers between

1950 and 1960. His 50 hits were an all-time CS record for players from Puerto Rico until Luis “Wicho” Figueroa broke it during the 2014 CS, held in

Venezuela. Power reinforced the Santurce Crabbers, 1953 champions, in Havana, Cuba, under player-manager Buster Clarkson. His 1954 Caguas Criollos

won the title at Sixto Escobar Stadium, San Juan, Puerto Rico, with player-manager Mickey Owen as catcher. Table I includes Vic Power’s CS hitting stats.

Table I: Vic Power’s Eight CS Events, 1950-1960


Source: Alfonso Araujo Bohórquez, Beisbol Series Del Caribe, Narraciones y Estadísticas, 1949-2001.

Wicho Figueroa

Figueroa played in 13 CS events, the most by any player from Puerto Rico, breaking Luis “Mambo” de León’s total of 12. Going into the 2014 CS, Figueroa

had played 42 games, with 49 hits in 166 at-bats and a .295 BA. In the 2014 CS hosted by Venezuela’s Estadio Esparta, a capacity of 11,000,  he recorded

four hits in 20 at-bats in six contests for 3-3 Mayagüez, the runner-up. Figueroa now had 53 hits in 48 CS games. His CS finale was at Hiram Bithorn Stadium,

Hato Rey, Puerto Rico, reinforcing the Santurce Crabbers, managed by Eduardo Pérez. He went two-for-seven in four games, a .286 BA.

Thus, Wicho concluded his CS career with 55 hits in 193 at-bats, for a .285 BA, in 52 games. Table II includes Wicho’s all-time CS ranking in games played,

AB, and hits for Phase I (1949-1960) and Phase II (1970-2023) players.

Table II: Most CS Games, AB, and Hits (Top 10)

Luis PoloniaDR78Luis Polonia312Luis Polonia94
Miguel TejadaDR71Miguel Tejada270Miguel Tejada85
Wicho FigueroaPR52Luis Figueroa193Luis Figueroa55
Robert PérezVZA50Robert Pérez190Vic Power50
Camaleón GarcíaVZA47Tony Armas171Luis Sojo47
Tony ArmasVZA46Vic Power171Héctor Espino46
Vic PowerPR46Luis Sojo166Carlos Baerga45
Heber GómezMX43Tony Batista163Camaleón García43
Luis SojoVZA43Camaleón García160David Ortiz42
Tony ValentínPR43Ted  Martínez160Robert Pérez42

DR: Dominican Republic; MX: Mexico; PR: Puerto Rico; VZA: Venezuela. Source: Tony Piña Campora, 2014.


Most of Wicho’s Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League (RCPBL) career was with the Mayagüez Indios. He was a two-time batting champion with a .417 BA in 2005-06 and .361 BA in 2010-11. With Mayagüez in 2001-02, he led the RCPBL with 11 stolen bases. In 2002-03, his 57 hits tied him with Ponce’s Brian Roberts and Bayamón’s Omar García.

Coincidentally, Vic Power led the Puerto Rico Winter League (PRWL) in hitting with a .358 BA in 1955-56 and .347 BA in 1959-60.

Jorge Colón Delgado, Official RCPBL Historian, and Coordinator of the Puerto Rico Professional Baseball Hall of Fame, did editing and photo placements.

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

error: Este contenido está protegido
Scroll al inicio